a bird and a bottle


Passover Pause
April 3, 2007, 10:41 am
Filed under: me

A quick heads-up: posting will be light or non-existent today as I celebrate Passover. All will be back to normal tomorrow.

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

After last year’s Seder, I vowed never to celebrate the holiday again.

Comment by Alon Levy

That bad, Alon? It can sure be a pain by day 6 when you think you will be sick if you see any more matzo, but it sounds to me like you just haven’t attended the right seder. You need one where people sing a lot and drink even more.

Comment by bean

Bean, have a happy passover celebration (one never tires of matzoball soup, and the cracker has a secret recipe).

Comment by swampcracker

Thanks, cracker. Would love to see that recipe, though I must admit that I have never made matzo balls myself (I am not the cook if my family). I have, however, eaten several hundred probably in my lifetime. Yum!

Comment by bean

Speaking of passover food, I did make delicious coconut macaroons the other day.

I highly recommend this easy recipe: http://nymag.com/restaurants/recipes/inseason/29689/

Comment by bean

Oh, I don’t mind matzos at all; I seem to be the only person around who actually likes eating them (but I still eat bread during the holiday). What I do mind is my family’s Seder drama. For some reason they decided to treat last year’s Seder as a real holiday celebration, complete with not skipping any part of the Hagadah. That, and the “We were slaves to Pharaoh in Egypt” part had grown on my nerves after Moses knows how many Seders.

Comment by Alon Levy

Ah yes, the whole Hagaddah version. My family: light on the “Let My People Go,” heavy on the singing. And the wine. It’s usually a good time (though by day 6 I tire of the Temptee+Matzo breakfast, lunch and snack).

Comment by bean

Ah… my family: pretty light on the “Let my people go,” pretty light on the singing (even though “How is this night different from all other nights?” still infuriates me), heavy on noxious drama.

Comment by Alon Levy

Ah the joys of family…

Comment by bean

Celebrating Passover in Savannah this week. Okay, about that secret recipe:
1) Let the eggs and matzoball mix stand up to two hours before dropping into boiling water, and make balls smaller;
2) The broth is better when made with chicken feet, celery, onions and parsley;
3) Florida variation: substitute chicken parts with gator tail (just joking).

Comment by swampcracker

Sounds good, Swampcracker. Except for the chicken’s feet. I can’t say I’ll be going near those any time soon.

Comment by bean




Leave a Reply

