a bird and a bottle


And then there was one
February 21, 2007, 8:45 am
Filed under: news, politics

The U.S. is not a coalition of one yet in Iraq, but it’s getting perilously close.

The Guardian reports that British Prime Minister Tony Blair will announce today that the British troops will be leaving Iraq — 1,000 immediately with full pullout by May 2008.

Here’s how it will work:

Under the plan due to be outlined by Mr Blair, British troops will gradually move into a single base on the outskirts of Basra. They will continue to take part in operations but in a role supporting Iraqi security forces rather than leading them, according to defence officials.

They will also continue operating long range desert patrols in Maysan province, north of Basra, along the border with Iran – a mission pressed on Britain by the US which says it is concerned about the smuggling of weapons from Iran. By the end of next year, all but a few army instructors will have left the country.

It’ll be interesting to see how the White House responds. What’s the British equivalent of freedom fries? fish ‘n’ fries?

(via Echidne)

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What’s the British equivalent of freedom fries? fish ‘n’ fries?

How about “Goodbye, Mr. Chips.

Comment by Swampcracker

This isn’t exactly related directly but I wanted to link this update by River. This story is heart-breaking. I thought you could write a good post about it, since I am not good at writing about these things. All I can say is it broke my heart and pissed me off at the same time.

Comment by Tanya

Yes, found that story late Monday night. I am still thinking about it not just in terms of one person suffering but also in terms of what it means for the outcome in Iraq (Riverbend, I am sure, has lots to say, and this reader certainly fears for her safety). When I collect my thoughts, I’d like to share them here (BTW: my daughter departs for Iraq in May/June; wringing my hands constantly on this one).

Comment by Swampcracker




Leave a Reply

