a bird and a bottle


Dispatches from the NAPW Conference Continue
February 20, 2007, 12:37 pm
Filed under: feminism/s & gender, news & views, reproductive justice

Over at Feministing, Miriam Zoila Perez of the National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health writes about her experience at the NAPW National Summit in January.

Here’s an excerpt:

During the pre-conference training organized by Be Present, Inc, I stood up and introduced myself as a radical doula. This was a designation that I came to assume for myself through an understanding that my beliefs (which seemed to me completely logical and altogether natural) placed me apart from a large part of what I have come to call the “birth activist” community (midwives, doulas and advocates who work toward changing the standards of care for birthing women in the US). This conference highlighted many of the ways my politics are a seeming contradiction: I’m a doula and I’m a pro-choice abortion advocate. I’m a doula and I’m a lesbian. I’m a doula and I may never have children. I’m a doula and I’m Latina. I’m doula and I’m not entirely comfortable with the gender/sex binary.

Check out her whole post here.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] NYC The other night at MilbyDaniel’s fabulous feminist feast (my title) I met Radical Doula Miriam Zoila Perez. She pretty much rocks, and I was thrilled to see today that she has started her own […]

Pingback by a bird and a bottle




Leave a Reply

