a bird and a bottle


Stuffed.
November 13, 2006, 8:42 pm
Filed under: food

Everyone’s got their favorite part of Thanksgiving. For some, it’s the days of preparation. For others, it’s the post-turkey tryptophan-induced nap. For me, it’s stuffing. There are only two times each year I eat stuffing: Thanksgiving and Passover. Passover stuffing is, of course, made of matzo. It can be pretty good (for something made of cardboard), but it really can’t hold a stuffing to bready delicious Thanksgiving stuffing. I could take or leave the turkey, the mashed potatoes, the cranberry sauce, and all those other goodies. Just give me a heaping, steaming plate of buttery fluffy stuffing goodness….

Stuffing.

I was thisclose to drooling (in public) today while reading NY Magazine’s Stuffing Taste Test. If anyone tastes any of these and has a clear favorite, please weigh in here. From the looks of them alone, either the City Bakery fancy cornbread stuffing or the Eli’s traditional stuffing (pictued above) get my vote….Yum.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Agreed, stuffing is the central portion of Thanksgiving for us, too. Unfortunately, my mom makes a super-secret combination of from-scratch cornbread, pepperidge farm corn bread stuffing mix, fresh veggies, sausage, and a mysterious collection of other things that make me want to cry when it’s all done. I can’t wait.

Comment by viveth

[…] Recent Comments viveth on Stuffed.theobromophile on Protecting Women from Themselves, part 75792. bean on Protecting Women from Themselves, part 75792. theobromophile on Protecting Women from Themselves, part 75792. Veronica on Well it’s about damn time. […]

Pingback by a bird and a bottle

[…] This year will be a very unconventional Thanksgiving for me. I will be out of the country, visiting a special friend (SF) in Berlin, Germany. As said SF is fishetarian (a fish-eating vegetarian), Thanksgiving will be turkey-free. This, of course, poses the question: How can I work my beloved stuffing into a Turkey-free Thanksgiving with my beloved? […]

Pingback by a bird and a bottle

[…] As I have written about before, I love stuffing. No Thanksgiving could be complete without it. I could take or leave the turkey, the cranberry sauce, even the mashed potatoes, so long as I have stuffing. […]

Pingback by a bird and a bottle




Leave a Reply

